The Sims 3 The Sims 4

Official Announcement: EA is retiring older The Sims games on mobile

Several weeks after we posted a finding of EA listing several Sims mobile games for retirement, EA has officially announced this week that they’ll be retiring a couple of Sims 3 mobile games as well as their Sims 4 Gallery companion app.

Sul Sul!

The Sims team has had a lot of fun bringing you exciting experiences on mobile, and we hope you have enjoyed them too — but alas, the time has come to say goodbye to a few of our trusted friends.

On August 11, 2017, we’ll be removing a few games from the App Store and Google Play:

  • The Sims 3 on Mobile*
  • The Sims 3 World Adventures on Mobile*
  • The Sims 3 Ambitions on Mobile*
  • The Sims 4 Gallery Companion App

*EA will no longer be supporting updates to the game after Aug 11. If you already have the game installed, you can keep playing. If you delete the game or switch to a new device, you won’t be able to reinstall it again.

We hope you enjoyed playing and that you’ll try some of our other great mobile games like The Sims FreePlay and SimCity BuildIt. We also have a new game coming out soon: The Sims Mobile.

Thanks for playing!

The Sims Team

What will happen to my game progress and all I’ve collected?

You can still keep playing the game while you have it on your device. If you remove it, you will not be able to reinstall it.

I just bought something from the store and want a refund.

Contact iTunes and Google Play support for refund help.

About the author

Jovan Jovic

Founder of the Sims Community website. I've been a Sims player for over 10 years and counting! My free time is usually spent in writing articles, graphic design and activism.

2 Comments

Click here to post a comment

    • Er, yes they can. The binaries are being removed from the download servers, so you will no longer be available to re-download from your purchase history. If you’re using iOS, iTunes will keep a copy of the application binary in it’s library stored on your Mac/PC – don’t loose it, once deleted there’s no way to get it back!